Skip to main content
News / Events / Art Paris, let’s go!
14/09/2021

Art Paris, let’s go!

On paper, this new edition featuring the Grand Palais Ephémère with its breathtaking view of the Eiffel Tower and the Champ de Mars was ambitious. And it clearly is!

Next to the heavy-duty galleries, for which this is a first – Almine Rech, Thaddaeus Ropac, Kamel Mennour, Continua – the others are not lacking in imagination to attract the visitor with poetic, strong pieces, or through attractive scenographies. Works in tribute to historical artists, or recently deceased. But also emerging, on the stand of galleries which are just as emerging. Photo, figurative, abstract painting, sculpture, textile work, furniture, there is something for all tastes, styles and mediums! Here is our second selection at the heart of a “cosmopolitan regionalism” fair, in the words of its director, Guillaume Piens.

Virginie Chuimer-Layen

Nathalie Obadia Gallery

Laure Prouvost (1978- « Pulled From below, c’est la mer à boire », 2021

Made by the artist who represented France at the 2019 Venice Contemporary Art Biennale, this astonishing functional chandelier, made of metal and glass, evokes an underwater world, fertile and moving. Produced with the Venetian master glassmaker Berengo, it bears the delicate and fragile traces of a life where overflowing flora takes precedence over human actions. A work with dreamlike accents, straight out of the phantasmagorical and particular universe of the visual artist.

Alain Gutharc Gallery

Edi Dubien (1963- « Les couronnes sont fragiles », peinture sur toile, pièce unique 2021

In the wake of the paintings worn by guest curator Hervé Mikaeloff, the works of French artist Edi Dubien challenge with their ambivalent poetry. Intimate portraits evoking the question of the genre of an autodidact who began with photography and also interested in the environment and the animal cause. “The crowns are fragile” is a strong work, imbued with a very aesthetic sadness, where the determined gaze of the young boy reaches the visitor in the heart.

Loevenbruck Gallery

Represented by the gallery, the Austrian artist-curator Jakob Lena Knebl imagined a sparkling scenography of the works presented on the stand. “Desiroom” is a vitamin-packed scenario, composed among others of historical pieces by Olivier Mosset, Michel Parmentier, or even Daniel Spoerri, from the gallery’s collection, together with exceptional design pieces – sculpture-games “Phantom” of the Simonnets, modular table and stools by Lionel Morgaine -, in partnership with the Meubles et Lumières gallery. An almost total work, unmissable.

Claude Bernard Gallery

Geneviève Asse (1923-2021), peintures sur toile de 1984 et 1992

The gallery shows, among other things, some large canvases (over 2 meters) by Genevieve Asse , this great artist of French painting who died last August 11, and known for her famous eponymous, soothing blue, which she has declined in many variations. Spiritual, his monochrome paintings sometimes interrupted by a thin red line, or here composed of a succession of colored white, blue, minimalist bands, open to infinity and are always conducive to contemplation.

Rabouan Moussion Gallery

Erwin Olaf (1959- série de photographies Im Wald, 2020

The black and white prints of the Dutch photographer, from his series Im Wald evoke current topics such as the exploitation of nature and the incessant movements of individuals around the world. Plastically close to the German romantic paintings of Caspar David Friederich or Arnold Böcklin, these almost silent photos also reveal the flaws and inconsistencies of our society.

Hélène Bailly Gallery

Pablo Picasso (1881-1973), solo show et vase aztèque aux deux visages, 1957.

The Hélène Bailly gallery presents a diverse solo show by the iconic Spanish artist through ceramics, drawings and small sculptures. Among these, the aztec vase with two faces from 1957, a very rare piece for its model, its motif (the myth of Janus) and its dimensions (more than 51 cm in height). Inspired by pre-Columbian archaeological vases, it was produced during his period of collaboration with the Madoura de Vallauris workshop.

Thaddaeus Ropac

Martha Jungwirth (1940 - Marengo (Ross) 2021, papier marouflé sur toile

At over 80 years old, the Austrian artist still paints the world as she feels it: an often distressing universe that she transcends with “chromatic gestures” dominated by purplish red tones. Marengo, Napoleon’s famous mount, is here only a shadow of himself, a ghostly skeleton with lines similar to American abstract expressionists. A powerful and disturbing work.

Skip to main content
Actualites / Events / Art Paris, c’est parti !
11/09/2021

Art Paris, c’est parti !

Sur le papier, cette nouvelle édition étrennant le Grand Palais Ephémère à la vue imprenable sur la Tour Eiffel et le Champ de mars se voulait ambitieuse. Et elle l’est manifestement !

À côté des galeries poids lourds, pour qui c’est ici une première – Almine Rech, Thaddaeus Ropac, Kamel Mennour, Continua – les autres ne manquent pas d’imagination pour attirer le visiteur avec des pièces poétiques, fortes, ou à travers des scénographies attractives. Des œuvres en hommage à des artistes historiques, ou récemment disparus. Mais aussi émergents, sur le stand de galeries qui le sont tout autant. Photo, peinture figurative, abstraite, sculpture, œuvre textile, mobilier, il y en a pour tous les goûts, les styles et les médiums ! Voici notre seconde sélection au cœur d’une foire au « régionalisme cosmopolite », selon les mots de son directeur, Guillaume Piens.

Virginie Chuimer-Layen

Galerie Nathalie Obadia 

Laure Prouvost (1978- « Pulled From below, c’est la mer à boire », 2021

Réalisé par l’artiste ayant représenté la France à la biennale d’art contemporain de Venise 2019, cet étonnant chandelier fonctionnel, fait de métal et de verre, évoque un monde sous-marin, fécond et mouvant. Produit avec le maître verrier vénitien Berengo, il porte les traces délicates et fragiles d’une vie où la flore débordante reprend le pas sur les agissements humains. Une œuvre aux accents oniriques, sortie tout droit de l’univers fantasmagorique et particulier de la plasticienne.

Galerie Alain Gutharc 

Edi Dubien (1963- « Les couronnes sont fragiles », peinture sur toile, pièce unique 2021

Dans le sillage des peintures portées par le commissaire invité Hervé Mikaeloff, les œuvres de l’artiste français Edi Dubien interpellent par leur poésie ambivalente. Des portraits intimes évoquant la question du genre d’un autodidacte ayant débuté par la photographie et s’intéressant également à l’environnement et à la cause animale. « Les couronnes sont fragiles » est une œuvre forte, empreinte d’une tristesse très esthétique, où le regard déterminé du jeune garçon atteint le visiteur en plein cœur.

Galerie Loevenbruck 

Représentée par la galerie, l’artiste-curatrice autrichienne Jakob Lena Knebl a imaginé une scénographie pétillante des œuvres présentées sur le stand. « Desiroom » est une mise en situation vitaminée, composée entre autres de pièces historiques d’Olivier Mosset, Michel Parmentier, ou encore de Daniel Spoerri, provenant du fonds de la galerie, ensemble à des pièces de design d’exception – sculpture-jeux « fantôme » des Simonnet, table et tabourets modulables de Lionel Morgaine -, en partenariat avec la galerie Meubles et Lumières. Une œuvre presque totale, immanquable.

Galerie Claude Bernard 

Geneviève Asse (1923-2021), peintures sur toile de 1984 et 1992

La galerie montre, entre autres, quelques grandes toiles (plus de 2 mètres) de Geneviève Asse,  cette grande artiste de la peinture française disparue le 11 août dernier,  et connue pour son fameux bleu éponyme, apaisant, qu’elle a décliné en de nombreuses variations. Spirituels, ses tableaux monochromes parfois interrompus par une fine ligne rouge, ou ici composés d’une succession de bandes colorées blanches, bleues, minimalistes, s’ouvrent à l’infini et sont  toujours propices à la contemplation.

Galerie Rabouan Moussion 

Erwin Olaf (1959- série de photographies Im Wald, 2020

Les tirages en noir et blanc du photographe néerlandais, issues de sa série Im Wald évoquent des sujets actuels comme l’exploitation de la nature et les mouvements incessants d’individus à travers le monde. Plastiquement proches des peintures romantiques allemandes de Caspar David Friederich ou d’Arnold Böcklin, ces photos presque silencieuses révèlent également les travers et incohérences de notre société.

Galerie Hélène Bailly 

Pablo Picasso (1881-1973), solo show et vase aztèque aux deux visages, 1957.

La galerie Hélène Bailly présente un solo show diversifié de l’artiste iconique espagnol à travers des céramiques, dessins et petites sculptures. Parmi ces derniers, le vase aztèque aux deux visages de 1957, une pièce très rare pour son modèle, son motif (le mythe de Janus) et ses dimensions (plus de 51 cm de hauteur). Inspiré des vases archéologiques précolombiens, il fut réalisé durant sa période de collaboration avec l’atelier Madoura de Vallauris.

Thaddaeus Ropac 

Martha Jungwirth (1940 - Marengo (Ross) 2021, papier marouflé sur toile

A plus de 80 ans, l’artiste autrichienne peint toujours le monde tel qu’elle le sent : un univers souvent angoissant qu’elle transcende à coups de « gestes chromatiques »  dominés par les tons rouges violacés. Marengo, célèbre monture de Napoléon n’est ici plus que l’ombre de lui-même, fantomatique squelette aux lignes proches des expressionnistes abstraits américains. Une œuvre puissante et dérangeante.